They think of everything …

October 16, 2006

This morning I ran down to the convenience store just near the residential building.  It is called the ‘Daily Yamazaki’.  It has a bakery which is called, in perfect Japlish, the ‘Daily Hot’.  Hot what?  Who knows.

Anyway, I had to buy a carton of milk with which to drown my hideously overpriced cornflakes.  When I returned to my room, I found that the salesperson had placed  a very long straw in the plastic bag with the milk, just in case I had wanted to drink the milk on its own, there and then.  They think of everything.

This weekend didn’t allow much time for sightseeing, as I and four others had to write an essay for our ‘Comparative Politics’ class.  The weekend actually started quite auspiciously, with a rather gentle earthquake on Saturday morning – the first in the two weeks that I have been here.  It was around 6.30 am, I was lying in bed drifting in and out of sleep, when the door to the loo slammed shut and the bed started rocking from side to side.  This rocking continued for around twenty seconds.

So there you go – I’ve lived to tell the tale.

Will post more news when I have some more time.  Today will be a long day at the school.

Leave a Reply

